Posted by: EvilNando | July 12, 2008

Development Roadmap

roadmap

I’ve seen people wondering on what I’m exactly trying to accomplish by releasing this tile map editor.

So I think its a good opportunity to talk about where I am and where I want to go.

The main goal of this blog is to document the process of making a 2D RPG game using XNA and C#

As you could probably have guessed , this game is going to be tile based and now that Ive completed a “basic” tile editor I could show those maps within the game engine, which means that I will stop all development on the editor and start building the engine itself

I like to be as minimalistic as possible so the things that will be implemented on version 001 of the engine are:

  1. Engine Framework ( here is where all game components will start running )
  2. Helper Classes (or Objects as you may wish to call them)
  3. State Manager ( not sure about this, could be changed in the future, this thing will encapsulate each “section” of the game as a game of its own , will explain this later on)
  4. Asset Manager
  5. Render Manager
  6. Camera Manager
  7. Input Manager
  8. Logic Manager

as you can see even with a minimalistic approach it is a lot of coding, but it is how this kind of things go.

As soon as this milestone is done we can talk about the game itself and what features we want it have, after that I will be developing 2 projects at the same time for each feature: one will be integrating the feature in the engine and the other will involve modifying the editor to support that feature.

My next blog entry will (hopefully) show the barebone engine running

Stay tuned.

Responses

  1. I have decided to follow along with your steps as I walk this path. I have been playing around with the RPG starter kit with the idea of learning to code by taking it apart and using that knowledge to build my own game around it, but it is a lot of work without any particular starting point, and I really like the results that you have gotten by starting from nothing, so I am going to be trying to write from scratch, and then figuring out how Dhruva handled the same thing within the starter kit. Though I’m not going to fool myself into thinking I can write my own tile editor, that is reserved for ninjas such as yourself! Hopefully I can figure out how to get this Mappy program to work 🙂

  2. My advice:

    do not waste too much time on the rpg toolkit code.

    it will take you far more time to fully understand the code than to learn each required subset .

    start by breaking the game into pieces(aka game features), then search the internet about how those pieces are made, then build prototypes that showcase each feature

    once you finish the prototypes you will be in good position to create an rpg on your own

  3. Thank you for your advice. I have already run into problems with the kit that I have no idea how to handle, so starting from scratch will definitely help me grasp each concept as they show up.

    I am thinking of starting a blog like this one to document my progress as well. Has this blog helped keep you moving along with your project, or was it mostly that making games is sweet and that is why you have kept on it?


Leave a Reply

Categories

