Posted by: EvilNando | July 16, 2008

XNA MAP EDITOR – SNEAK PEEK 2.0

sneak peek 2 0

Today Ive done some work on the editor there are a couple of neat things I wanted to show you before going to bed

First is the texture creator:

borderstexture

With this feature you will get the option to save a spritesheet with each tile separated by a magenta margin. I dont know if this feature is useful at all but since it works I have no plans in removing it ( be warned that the operation of creating the new texture is costly )

Second feature is what I call “Collision Templates”

When youre dealing with very big maps you will soon realize that it is a painful work trying to set up all your collision tiles by hand.

It is only normal thinking to assume that if you see a tree in the game , you would not be able to walk across it or any other tree by that matter as well as any stone wall , deep mass of water etc etc etc

collision template

Collision Templates is nothing more than flaggin individual tiles directly to the tile palette , this way every time you paint the map with blocked tiles the map will create collisions in the same place where those blocket tiles where placed (independently of the layer of placement)

If you happen to have your map almost dont and you need to start blocking the colission layer there is a new Function under Tools that will check the collsion template against the tiles in the map and will automatically set the collisions for you, probably with these features the block tool will be rendered obsolete but thats how things go

Expect version 2.0 anytime soon

Responses

  1. Hey I just recently found your map editor.
    I have to say it is by far one of the better tile map editors out on the internet right now.

    Keep up the good work!

    Also, will you be releasing the source code for it? or will the project be closed source until you are completely done?

  2. Wow thank you for your kind words! I really appreciated , I’ll do my best

    If everything goes as planned yeah sometime in the future I will release the source code

    but since there are a lot of variables involved I cannot guarantee it

    right now what I can offer is just release builds

  3. “Collision Templates”? That’s a bold move. Sounds a lot like an “Automatic Collision Generator,” but that’s just me. 😉

  4. As far as I can tell the editor is doing nothing automatically. its up to the user to select which tiles are blocked and which are not

    Sound a lot like “Manual Collision Generator”, but thats just me

  5. =_=

  6. Great progress!

    I have one suggestion though. You might want to keep the block tool in the future since there might be situations where you want to make a solid tile walkable (for instance a secret path). If the block tool is missing, the same tile will have to exist in two places in the tileset (one for the blocked one and one for the walkable one). I don’t know if I’m making any sense but anyways, keep up the good work!

  7. Im with you man , besides even if its a useless feature (as the texture generation option) I dont plane to take any feature out

    the more the better

    secrets paths FTW

  8. The above comment is mine , guess I cant be logged from 2 computers at the same time 😕


Leave a Reply

Categories

