Posted by: EvilNando | January 9, 2009

NANDO SOFT: a 2d game company

NandoSoft

Hello all:

today I’ve decided to get somewhat serious in the game development business, this is why Ive decided to launch myself as a one man company under the name of NandoSoft.

Im not sure that by doing this I will find success but what I do know is that this will provide me with lots of experience and a skill set that will be of great value when dealing with (game dev) job interviews.

My current plan is to continue the development process of the rpg game im making and once it is finished sell it to the public (at a competitive price compared to other indie games). I will seek distribution via XBLA as well as making my own e-store

I dont know if this is the right thing to do but I’ve decided to keep documenting the game development process through this blog (of course the only things that I will not be showing are the source code and the original assets).

Now that I’ve finished the AnimEditor I’ve realized that I no longer have a clear focus on what to do next, this is why as of today I will be stopping all coding and will start the (long overdue) game design documents.

The making of this blog has been the main source of motivation for this project, so to keep that motivation going (as I said earlier) I will be writing about my progress, this includes the design documents (with the exception of the art bible), I hope you guys download this documents, read them and if possible comment on them so I have some feedback from fellow game developers as myself.

This is it for today, probably I will stay out of the blog for a week while I put my ideas together in the design documents.

Oh, I forgot to mention that I’ve started doing some freelance (paid) work for an indie game company, this officialy makes the start of my professional game dev carrer 🙂

So what game Im making in that company? well as soon as my NDA is lifted I will be posting more information as well as links and screenshot of that game.

Thanks for reading!

Responses

  1. Good luck on the new venture.

    stinks about the source I was kinda looking forward to reviewing it. and maybe borrowing some techniques. 😉

  2. You can always drop by and shoot some questions
    Ill try to answer them whenever I have some free time

  3. Hello EvilNando!

    Congratulations on solidifying yourself as a company and as a Freelance (paid when there is work) professional.

    Your page has popped up for a great number of my searches, and I have found your blogs very informative. Thank you 🙂

  4. Well thank you, I promise I will keep posting stuff as much and as best as I can.

    again, thanks for reading.

  5. You are welcome 🙂

    I will be picking up the ‘Learning XNA 3’ (with the fish on it) tomorrow so that I will have a guide to help fill in the blanks along the way. I look forward to your future installments.

    How far along would you say you are in development? 50%?

  6. development of the RPG game well i can say that right now its at 10% (which accounts for the animeditor , a tool I will be using for the final game, Ive decided to rewrite the tile editor so basically programming wise I have nothing)

    all that Ive done until now has served me to get the big idea of what to do and where to go. so once I finish these documents the real work will begin.

    as a book recommendation I strongly suggest that you look into buying this

    http://www.amazon.com/Building-XNA-2-0-Games-Professionals/dp/1430209798/ref=pd_bbs_sr_7?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1232410705&sr=8-7

    I own many (if not all) of the xna books and this without a doubt is the best Ive seen not only in the xna category but in game programming as well

  7. Awesome! Then I will see about getting that one as well. The only reason I haven’t looked closer at that one is because I don’t know how much XNA changed between 2 and 3, and I didn’t want to learn a bunch of stuff that is no longer valid because I’m using 3 🙂

  8. Ok, I purchased that book and you were right, it is a great resource. It has definitely helped me wrap my mind around several of the ideas presented through C# and XNA. Now I just have to keep my eyes open for outdated methods and code. Thank you again 🙂

  9. Hello. Where are you located? I want to design a game and I have drawing skills but no computer skills. I also have a lot of rpg game play experience as well as notebooks full of game ideas and drawings for monsters, ships, weapons, ect. I currently in a training program as a Paralegal. My GPA was 3.8 with an associates degree in Psychology. I would also like to work on a submarine game. I also have published 5 short stories on Kindle. I live in Vernon Hills, Illinois.

    • Im from Spain but currently Im terribly busy with real life to go on and venture with other projects


Leave a Reply

Categories

